Yesterday, Nick, aka Nicholas, aka Thor, Niko, Nicolai Ivanovitch, aka, my first born, last born, my only, and I went to lunch. He took me to Green Street in Pasadena, and for the first time in a long time, it was just the two of us: not rushing off in a car somewhere. He had been working 50-60 hours a week, and both he and Laura are tired. She was off with her parents who live in the area also.

We had a wonderful time. Sometimes moms and kids relate just as that: a mom to a kid, but yesterday we just chatted, and I filled him in on our last three months. There’s a picture of Nicholas with my twin sister, Elizabeth, and her husband Jim, and he’s gloriously happy. I also am putting up a pic of his baby picture.

He’s a very funny guy, and I guess I am a funny old lady, but our humor is different which is delightful. I’ve worked hard on being a good older mom which means, get off his neck, stay out of his business, and love his wife (an easy task indeed), but give them space. Yesterday we talk as two human beings carvorting and maneuvering through this path called life, and I was happy and grateful.

thanks Nicholas! love you mom

